illustrations

Been working on the illustrations and some prints to see how everything will go together.
This was the illustration and image I wanted to combine with the ripped paper effect

20131004-224834.jpg

Image © Sylvia Shek

After selectively ripping parts of the photographic image I set to work sticking the pieces on to a blank canvas and adding the illustration.  I  then scanned the image into  the computer to do some minor re-touching and added some textures.
This is the outcome

20131004-230101.jpgImage © Sylvia Shek

After completing this first image I set to work on a second one

20131004-230535.jpgImage © Sylvia Shek

On completing this image and having a good look at them side by side. I’m realising that although the idea and effect that I wanted is there, somehow I feel that the overall aesthetics aren’t looking as good as I had hoped.
I think the problem may be with my illustrations looking too amateur and child like.

Needing to think of how I can rectify this situation.

Leave a Reply

